Wittering Awarded Stainforth Trophy

RAF Wittering has won the highly coveted Stainforth Trophy in recognition of its outstanding contribution.

The trophy, awarded annually to the Station that has delivered the most effective and efficient overall performance in the preceding year, was presented to Gp Capt Damian Alexander by Air Marshal Greg Bagwell, Air Command’s Deputy Commander Operations.

First awarded in 1974, the trophy is named after Wing Commander George Stainforth AFC RAF, who was the first man ever to exceed 400 mph in an aircraft. It has become one of the mos t prestigious awards that can be granted to an RAF Station.

Group Captain Alexander said: “It is an honour to be RAF Wittering’s Commanding Officer, given the Station’s diverse outputs and rich aviation history. Our people continue to play a crucial role in enabling and sustaining Air Power during an incredibly busy operational period, yet we also make time to invest in them and in our community relationships.

“Winning the Stainforth Trophy tells everyone at RAF Wittering, be they regulars, reserves, civil servants or contractors, that their significant contribution to the RAF and Air Power is recognised and appreciated. We have won this fantastic trophy because of each and every person’s contribution, and I am privileged to receive this award on their behalf.”

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.